free

#17 Marie Roussin & Olivier Marchal

  • 53 minutes

Speakers :

This week, for the 17th episode of Série Series l'émission, Marie Barraco & Pierre Zéni welcome scriptwriter Marie Roussin and actor and author Olivier Marchal, two craftsmen of quality popular series.

After training in scriptwriting and production (UCLA, CEEA) and initial experience of collective writing on series ( Les Bleus, Odysseus, etc.), Marie Roussin took part in the creation of the series Cut! (France Ô) and then joined Frédéric Krivine's writing team on Un Village Français (France 3), from season 5 to the end of the series. She then participated in the scripts of various popular French series, notably season 6 of Fais pas ci, Fais pas ça (France 2) and Hôtel de la Plage (France 2), before returning to the United States to work on season 3 of the series Borgia (Canal+) under the writing direction of Tom Fontana. In 2015, she became the writing director for the first two seasons of the French adaptation of Les Bracelets Rouges (TF1). She is also the creator and showrunner of Mixte, the first French series on Amazon Prime, which will be released on June 14, 2021.

While working in the police force, Olivier Marchal was inspired by the detective stories that marked his youth to write short stories and poems. It was when he sold his first scripts that he left the police force to devote himself to his career in the audiovisual sector. However, he did not leave his first vocation completely behind, and over the years became one of the figures of the "cop" character on French television, whether as a writer for Commissaire Moulin (TF1), Central Nuit (France 2), Flics (TF1), Braquo (Canal+), Section Zéro (Canal+) or as an actor for Police District (M6), Les Rivières Pourpres (France 2) or more recently La Promesse (France 2).

In this episode, Marie Roussin and Olivier Marchal look back at their careers and their writing processes, which reflect the plurality of authors' techniques. They also discuss the importance of quality popular series, great sagas and their strong and diverse characters.

gratuit

#17 Marie Roussin & Olivier Marchal

  • 53 min

Intervenants :

Cette semaine, pour le 17ème épisode de Série Series l’émission, Marie Barraco & Pierre Zéni reçoivent la scénariste Marie Roussin et le comédien et auteur Olivier Marchal , deux artisans des séries populaires de qualité.

Après des formations en scénario et production (UCLA, CEEA) et de premières expériences d’écriture collective sur des séries ( Les Bleus , Odysseus …), Marie Roussin participe à la création de la série Cut ! (France Ô) puis intègre l’équipe d’écriture de Frédéric Krivine sur Un Village Français (France 3), de la saison 5 à la fin de la série. Elle participe ensuite aux scénarios de diverses séries populaires françaises, notamment la saison 6 de Fais pas ci, Fais pas ça (France 2) ou encore de l’Hôtel de la Plage (France 2), avant de retourner aux Etats-Unis pour travailler sur la saison 3 de la série Borgia (Canal+) sous la direction d’écriture de Tom Fontana. En 2015, elle devient directrice d’écriture pour les deux premières saisons de l’adaptation française des Bracelets Rouges (TF1). Elle est également la créatrice et showrunner de Mixte , la première série française d’Amazon Prime, qui sortira le 14 juin 2021.

Alors qu’il travaille dans la police, Olivier Marchal s’inspire des polars qui ont marqué sa jeunesse pour écrire des nouvelles et des poèmes. C’est lorsqu’il vend ses premiers scénarios qu’il quitte la police pour se consacrer à sa carrière dans l’audiovisuel. Il ne laisse cependant pas sa première vocation complètement derrière lui, et devient au fil des années l’une des figures du personnage de “flic” à la télévision française, que ce soit en tant qu’auteur pour Commissaire Moulin (TF1), Central Nuit (France 2), Flics (TF1), Braquo (Canal+), Section Zéro (Canal+) ou en tant que comédien pour Police District (M6), Les Rivières Pourpres (France 2) ou plus récemment La Promesse (France 2).

Dans cet épisode, Marie Roussin et Olivier Marchal reviennent sur leurs parcours et sur leurs processus d’écriture, qui reflètent la pluralité des techniques des auteurs. Ils échangent également sur l’importance des séries populaires de qualité, des grandes sagas et de leurs personnages forts et divers.